Military Veteran Peer Network

WHAT IS THE MILITARY VETERAN PEER NETWORK?

No one wades a stream without getting wet and no one comes back from war unchanged.  This is a toughening process for some people – a self-awareness generation engine.  The efforts of our troops may produce internal struggles, but those efforts also produce tested, accomplished people.

Sometimes, people need a hand in slowing the internal disquiet and conflict that combat, deployment, military sexual trauma, or other abnormal situations produce.  No one is better prepared to speak with a Veteran about her experiences than another Veteran, a peer.

With the peer-to-peer network, veterans go through a training course that teaches them how to facilitate groups of veterans. Once trained, they are tasked with going out into their local communities and creating peer groups. Because members of the group set the rules, no two peer groups are the same.


Use the tabs below to find MVPN resources near you. The "Coord. List" tab is a list of MVPN coordinators who can put you in touch with trained peers in your area. The "Field Clinicians" tab is a list of trained military-informed professional mental health experts.

Name County City Phone Number Email
Ms. Angela Nelms Hale Amarillo 806-292-8775 angela.nelms@txpan.org
Ms. Ashley Taylor Montgomery Conroe 936-521-6132 ashleyhy@tricountyservices.org
Ms. Catrina Rockhold Kerr Kerrvile (830)890-0097 crockhold@hillcountry.org
Ms. Christa Hudson Bell Killeen 254-813-5834 christahudson0427@gmail.com
Mr. Christopher Araujo Williamson Austin (512) 762-1990 christopher.1@milvetpeer.net
Mr. Clark Gullette Collin Prosper (972)704-8281 marinevfw@gmail.com
Mrs. DeLisa Russell MA McLennan Waco 254-227-0326 delisa.russell@hotmhmr.org
Mr. Domingo Rodriguez Denton Dallas 805-302-9494 domingo.rodriguez@veteran.me
Mr. Dwayne Williams El Paso El Paso 915-319-3811 dwilliams@ehnelpaso.org
Mr. Elliot Bonner Haskell Wichita Falls (940)397-3315 bonnere@helenfarabee.org
Mr. Eugene Hooper Hays San Marcos 512-938-9024 ehooper@hillcountry.org
Ms. Ginger Simonson Denton Denton 817-683-2870 vgws56@gmail.com
Mr. Glen McGraw Taylor Abilene 325-670-4818 gmcgraw@bhcmhmr.org
Mr. Gregory Morton Bexar San Antonio 210-685-8716 gmorton@chcsbc.org
Ms. Heather Melton Galveston Galveston (409)944-4437 heatherm@gulfcoastcenter.org
Mr. Hugh Scanlen Jeff Davis Fort Davis 512-750-8455 hughscanlen@sbcglobal.net
Mr. Jaime Cantu Kleberg Kingsville 361-592-6481 jaime.cantu@us.army.mil
Mr. Jaime Cervantez Guadalupe Seguin 830-305-1882 jaime.cervantez@bbtrails.org
Ms. Janci Felts Ector Odessa 432-770-9326 jancibridges@pbmhmr.com
Mr. Jeffrey Headrick Angelina Lufkin 936-225-2887 jeffreyh@burke-center.org
Mr. Jerry Alvarado Webb Laredo 956-771-0335 gerardoa@borderregion.org
Mr. Jimmie Murray San Saba Brownwood 870-329-4485 jimmie.murray@cflr.us
Ms. Julianne Sanford Cherokee Jacksonville 903-810-0303 cjsan06@aol.com
Mr. Keith Irwin Smith Tyler 903-705-5752 kirwin@andrewscenter.com
Mr. LaJohn McDonald Jr. Tarrant Fort Worth (817)266-7507 lajohn.mcdonaldjr@mhmrtc.org
Ms. Lori Thomas Gregg Longview 903-316-6478 lori.thomas@communityhealthcore.com
Mr. Michael Killam Tarrant Hurst (817) 454-3186 michael.killam@mhmrtc.org
Mr. Mike Allen Victoria Victoria 254-247-4650 michael1783@gulfbend.org
Ms. Miriam Clark Hidalgo Edinburg 956-289-4214 miriamclark84@gmail.com
Mr. Patrick Baca Brazos Bryan 979-417-8215 brazosvalley.mvpn@gmail.com
Ms. Penny Poolaw Grayson Sherman 903-267-0166 pennypoolaw@hotmail.com
Ms. Priscilla Cruz Aransas Corpus Christi 361-886-1086 pcruz@bhcnc.org
Ms. Ramonita Murillo Dimmit Lytle 830-391-5117 ramonitam@caminorealmhmr.org
Ms. Robin Greer Hood Granbury (817) 579-4489 rgreer@pecanvalley.org
Mr. Russell Howard Tom Green San Angelo 325-245-3299 rhoward@mhmrcv.org
Mr. Scott Smith Tarrant Grapevine 817-239-2636 ahelpfulpeer@gmail.com
Mr. Timothy Winberg Jefferson Beaumont (409) 651-6084 timothy.winberg@stctr.org
Mr. Tony Solomon Harris Houston 713-523-8963 tsolomon@mhahouston.org
Ms. Tousha Barnes Potter Amarillo 806-341-0581 tousha.barnes@txpan.org
Ms. Valerie Rogers Lubbock Lubbock 806-470-9317 vrogers@starcarelubbock.org
Mr. Vince Ramirez Howard Big Spring 432-466-6313 vince.ramirez@wtcmhmr.org